Saturday, August 18, 2012

Where Are They Now? BDPA Detroit Chapter Presidents

BDPA Detroit is one of the oldest chapters in the nation. The chapter has a potent legacy in BDPA history that includes 'BDPA Chapter of the Year' honors in 1989, 1994 and 1996. I'm proud to say that I first joined BDPA in 1988 as a member of BDPA Detroit chapter.

The chapter hosted national BDPA technology conferences in 1982 ('Entrepreneurship: A Successful Attitude'), 1992 ('Shaping the Information Technology Professional: Current and Future') and 2005 ('Driving Innovation, Bringing Value and Embracing Change').

Perhaps the greatest legacy of the chapter is its historical dominance of the national high school computer competition (HSCC). BDPA Detroit chapter won the National BDPA HSCC in six dfferent years (1991, 1993, 1995-1996, 1998 and 2000) ... more than any other BDPA chapter in history. The BDPA Education & Technology Foundation (BETF) awarded Bemley Scholarships to Detroit chapter students Kobie Burrell (1991), Liz Cardenas (1995), Stephen Clayton (2000), Courtney Davis (1991), Harold Frazier Jr. (1995), Freeman Gardner (1996), Quinton Green (2000), Jason Jackson (1995), Sealoyd Jones III (1996), Ian Kerman (2000), Rovetta Latham (1995), Ronald Lewis (1996), Sunil Phillips (1991), Reginal Spratling (1998), Veronica Taylor (2000), Tramale Turner (1991), Ketan Vyas (1996), Naresh Vyas (1991), Brandi Walker (1995) and Derron Ware (1993).

I hope that these HSCC alumni are still connected to BDPA. We want HSCC testimonials from each of these young people if they can be located.

Four of the past BDPA Detroit chapter presidents (Diane Davis (shown in photo), Curvie Burton, Donna McKay and Eatonia Williams) also served as members of the National BDPA Executive Committee. It would be great if we could hear from each of the past BDPA Detroit chapter presidents:

Where are they now?

No comments: