Thursday, March 15, 2012

Where Are They Now? BDPA Chicago Chapter Presidents

BDPA Chicago became the 14th chapter in the nation when it began on March 15, 1986. The chapter had eight founding members (Marvin Walker, President; Hazel Beason, Vice President; Anthony Pittman, Treasurer; Michelle Walker, Recording Secretary; Wallace Neal, Education Chairperson; Roy Peeples, Public Relations Chairperson; Greg Walker, Finance Chairperson; and Fidelis Umeh, Member)

The chapter has a potent legacy in BDPA history that includes 'BDPA Chapter of the Year' honors in 1991-1993, 2000 and 2005. I used BDPA Chicago chapter as my role model when I served as BDPA Cincinnati chapter president in 1999-2001. It amazes me that BDPA Chicago maintained its spot as the chapter with the largest membership for over a decade. The ability of this chapter to recruit and retain members over the years is simply remarkable.

The chapter hosted national BDPA technology conferences in 1988 ('Growth and Success by Design')and 2001 ('Empowering the Nation Through Information').

BDPA Chicago students won national high school computer competition (HSCC) two times (1994 and 2006). The students from these three championship years are: Joseph Huggins (2006), Nickesha King (1994), Demmie Quinones (1994), Lee Reed (2006), Andreaus Robinson (2006), Joey Rojas (2004), Maurice Shelton (2006) and Walter Webster (2004).
I hope that these HSCC alumni are still connected to BDPA. We want HSCC testimonials from each of these young people if they can be located.

Five of the past BDPA Chicago chapter presidents (Ollie Morgan, Milt Haynes, Ricky Penick, Reggie Gardner and Yvette Graham) also served as members of the National BDPA Executive Committee. It would be great if we could hear from each of the past BDPA Chicago chapter presidents:

Where are they now?

No comments: