Thursday, August 11, 2011

BDPA Foundation Announces 2011 Eli Lilly Scholarship Winners

The BDPA Education and Technology Foundation (BETF), in coordination with Eli Lilly and Company, is pleased to announce the winner of the fifth annual Eli Lilly and Company Scholarship for BDPA Students. The two winners this year are Jala Cruz, a graduating senior at North Central High School (Indianapolis, IN) and Adwait Walimbe, a rising senior at John Marshall High School (Rochester, MN).

The purpose of the Eli Lilly Scholarship for BDPA Students is to recognize outstanding minority students, with an interest in information technology, who make significant contributions to society. Applicants must excel academically, show exceptional leadership potential, and make an impact on their communities through service to others.
We appreciate Eli Lilly and Company for the investment that it continues to make in our BDPA student members,” said Wayne Hicks, BETF Executive Director. “The BDPA Foundation is pleased to work with Eli Lilly to help cultivate these future leaders. Our hope is that other corporations will contact us for similar scholarship opportunities
Part of the application process is an essay that answers the question 'Why is Information Technology Important'.  Jala's essay focused on the many ways that technology is used to improve our lives.  Click here for the full text of her winning essay.

Adwait is a long-time BDPA member.  He was part of the past few national High School Computer Competition championship teams trained by our BDPA chapter in Rochester, MN.  His essay focused on the impact of technology on both entrepreneurial start-ups and off-shore outsourcing. Click here for the full text of his winning essay.

Previous Eli Lilly scholars were:

  • 2010 - Leslie Vasquez (Pike High School) and Gerado Dominguez (Chicago State University)
  • 2009 - Carrine Johnson (Palos Verdes Peninsula High School) and Hung Vo (Georgia Tech University)
  • 2008 - Khalia Braswell (North Carolina State University) and Christian West (Northwestern University)
  • 2007 - Daniel Puente (Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Magnet Center School of Business and Management) and Lee Reed (University of Michigan)

No comments: