Friday, October 10, 2014

BDPA Foundation Announces 2014 Eli Lilly Scholarship Winners

The BDPA Education and Technology Foundation (BETF), in coordination with Eli Lilly and Company, is pleased to announce the winner of the 8th annual Eli Lilly and Company Scholarship for BDPA Students. The two winners this year are Pooja Chebolu, incoming freshman at University of Southern California (Los Angeles, CA) and Dylan  Gunn, junior at North Carolina A&T (Cincinnati, OH).

The purpose of the Eli Lilly Scholarship for BDPA Students is to recognize outstanding minority students, with an interest in information technology, who make significant contributions to society. Applicants must excel academically, show exceptional leadership potential, and make an impact on their communities through service to others.
We are committed to supporting programs that provide opportunities for young people to explore and enhance their careers in science and technology. Education is so vital in creating the professionals who will contribute to the discovery of innovative medicines of the future,” said Janice Chavers, Director, HR and Diversity Communications, Eli Lilly and Company.
Pooja is a long-term member of our BDPA Los Angeles chapter.  She competed for a number of years as part of the chapter's High School Computer Competition ... winning two Dr. Jesse Bemley Scholarships.  This is her first time winning the Eli Lilly Scholarship for BDPA Students!  Part of the application process is an essay that answers the question 'Why is Information Technology Important'.  Pooja's essay focused on the various facets of the web.  As she says, the "web connects more than machines, it connects people".  Click here for the full text of her winning essay.
"I am beyond thrilled to be named a recipient of the Eli Lilly Scholarship for BDPA Students! BDPA has certainly enabled me to appreciate the sheer depth of IT through its programming courses, but in alleviating the financial burden of paying for college with its scholarship programs, this organization has forged unparalleled opportunities and truly inspired me to use computing to benefit contemporary society. I couldn't be more thankful!"
Dylan is a long-time member of our BDPA Cincinnati chapter. His essay focused on the impact of technology on the lives of his generation, Generation Y.  Click here for the full text of his winning essay.
"These past two years have been full of ups & downs, but a roller coaster wouldn't be fun if it were just a straight line going full speed. It's true what they say, the absence of evidence isn't the evidence of absence. I received a phone call that made me cry because I thought the evidence to receive such a scholarship wasn't there. They chose me for me, not a GPA alone. Talk about breaking chains!"
Previous Eli Lilly scholars were:

  1. 2007, Daniel Puente (University of Texas)
  2. 2007, Christian West (Northwestern University)
  3. 2008, Khalia Braswell (North Carolina State University)
  4. 2008, Lee Reed (University of Michigan)
  5. 2009, Hung Vo (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  6. 2009, Carrine Johnson (Palos Verdes Peninsula High School)
  7. 2010, Leslie Vasquez (Pike High School)
  8. 2010, Gerardo Dominguez (Chicago State University)
  9. 2011, Jala Cruz (North Central High School)
  10. 2011, Adwait Walimbe (John Marshall High School)
  11. 2012, Allen Warner (Valdosta State University)
  12. 2013, Risa Christopher (Indiana University)
  13. 2013, Cameron Hughes (University of California, San Diego)

No comments: